Home / Reviews / Head-to-head

Head-to-head

Aqara G350 vs Aqara G3: Which Should You Buy?

By Bestindoorcam Editors Oct 25, 2026 15 min read
Aqara G350 vs Aqara G3: Which Should You Buy?

Affiliate note: Bestindoorcam.com may earn a commission if you buy through a store link. That does not change which camera we prefer. Read how affiliate links and ads work and how we research and review cameras.

TL;DR: The Aqara Camera Hub G350 ($139.99 at Aqara's US store) is the newer, stronger camera: dual lenses at 4K + 2.5K with 9x hybrid zoom, Wi-Fi 6, microSD up to 512GB, and a Zigbee + Thread hub that is also a Matter Controller — Aqara bills it as the world's first Matter-certified camera. The Aqara Camera Hub G3 ($119.99) is the older 2K pan-and-tilt classic: a single 110° lens, a Zigbee 3.0 hub for up to 128 Aqara devices, and one trick the G350 dropped — a 360° IR blaster for legacy remotes. Buy the G350 for the camera and the future-proof hub; buy the G3 if you want HomeKit Secure Video with an IR blaster and proven, simpler hardware for $20 less. Both cap Apple Home video at 1080p. All specs below are from Aqara's official pages, checked October 25, 2026; we have not hands-on tested either camera.

Overview

These are the two camera-hubs most Aqara shoppers end up choosing between, and they share more than the name suggests. Both are white, robot-shaped indoor pan-and-tilt cameras of almost identical size (the G350 measures 123 × 85 × 68 mm; the G3 measures 123.4 × 85.1 × 67.8 mm), both run on 5V/2A USB-C power, both record locally to microSD as well as to Apple HomeKit Secure Video, and both double as smart-home hubs for Aqara's Zigbee sensors. If you want the full single-product breakdowns first, read our Aqara Camera Hub G350 review and our Aqara Camera Hub G3 review — this page is the head-to-head.

The split is generational. The G3 (model CH-H03) is the established design: one 2K lens, a Zigbee 3.0 hub, face and gesture recognition on a local NPU, and an infrared blaster that can run a TV or air conditioner. The G350 (models CH-C14E/CH-C14DE), whose official product page Aqara published in March 2026, rebuilds the same idea around 2026 standards: two lenses instead of one, 4K instead of 2K, Wi-Fi 6 instead of Wi-Fi 5, Thread alongside Zigbee, and Matter — including Matter camera certification, which Aqara markets as a world first. The price gap at Aqara's own US store is only $20 ($139.99 vs $119.99, checked October 25, 2026), so this decision is mostly about features, not budget.

Full specification comparison

SpecAqara Camera Hub G350Aqara Camera Hub G3
ModelCH-C14E / CH-C14DECH-H03
Video resolutionDual lens: 3840×2160 (4K) wide + 2560×1440 (2.5K) telephoto2304×1296 (2K), single lens
Field of view133° diagonal (wide, 2.8 mm) / 43° diagonal (telephoto, 8 mm); f/1.6110° wide-angle
Zoom9x hybrid zoom (dial, tap, drag-box, pinch)Not specified by Aqara as a hybrid zoom system
Frame rate / codec20 fps / H.264Not stated in Aqara's G3 spec table consulted
Pan / tiltMarketed as 360° coverage; up to 30 preset angles and scheduled cruise per Aqara's EU store; Aqara's spec table does not publish separate pan/tilt degree figures340° horizontal / 45° vertical (30° up, 15° down); automatic cruising
Night vision940 nm infrared (near-invisible, no red glow)940 nm infrared
On-device AIPerson, pet, face, lens-obstruction, smile and gesture (static + dynamic) recognition; 6 sound detections (e.g. baby crying, coughing, dog barking); AI auto-tracking with optional close-up zoomFace, gesture and pet recognition on a local NPU; face and pet tracking
AudioTwo-way, full-duplex; dialogue within 5 m, pickup up to 8 m in a quiet room (Aqara figures); 95 dB sirenTwo-way audio (built-in microphone and speaker)
Smart-home hubZigbee + Thread; Matter Controller and Matter bridge. Aqara's EU store lists up to 80 Aqara Zigbee sub-devices, or 40 Zigbee + 40 Thread; third-party Zigbee sub-devices not supportedZigbee 3.0 hub for up to 128 Aqara child devices (repeaters required to reach the maximum, per Aqara); 360° IR blaster. No Thread, and the G3 itself is not a Matter device
Wi-FiDual-band 2.4/5 GHz Wi-Fi 6 (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/ax), WPA3; Bluetooth also listedDual-band 2.4/5 GHz (802.11 a/b/g/n/ac), WPA3
Local storagemicroSD Class 10+, up to 512GB (not included); 24/7 recording; NAS back-up via the SD card; end-to-end encrypted cloud under the HomeGuardian planmicroSD Class 4+, up to 128GB (not included); HomeKit Secure Video to iCloud+
EcosystemsApple Home / HomeKit Secure Video, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings, Home Assistant, Aqara HomeApple Home / HomeKit Secure Video, Alexa, Google Home, IFTTT, Aqara Home
Apple Home caveatHomeKit Secure Video capped at 1080p (Aqara states this; an iCloud+ plan and an Apple home hub are required)HomeKit Secure Video capped at 1080p and pan/tilt controls are not available in the Home app (Aqara states both are HomeKit limitations)
Privacy modePhysical privacy mode: Aqara's EU store describes the lens retracting completely when the camera is offPhysical masking: the lens assembly tilts down into the head housing (the “sleepy face”) — masking, not a sliding shutter
Extra ports / mountingUSB-C power; no adapter in the box (camera, manuals, USB-C to USB-C cable)USB-C port also works as a UVC video output; 1/4″ threaded mount; power adapter included in the box per Aqara's spec listing
Power5V/2A via USB-C5V/2A via USB-C (10W max)
Dimensions / weight123 × 85 × 68 mm; weight not listed in Aqara's spec table123.4 × 85.1 × 67.8 mm; 250 g
Operating temperature-10°C to +45°C-10°C to +40°C
Price (Aqara's own stores, Oct 25, 2026)$139.99 at us.aqara.com; £139.99 at eu.aqara.com$119.99 at us.aqara.com; 99.99 at eu.aqara.com

Sources: Aqara's official product pages (aqara.com/en/product/camera-hub-g350 and /camera-hub-g3), Aqara's official US store (us.aqara.com) and EU store (eu.aqara.com), and Aqara's partnerships/spec pages for the G3, all re-checked October 25, 2026. Two honesty notes: Aqara's G350 page prints inch and Fahrenheit conversions that do not match its own metric figures, so this table uses metric only; and Aqara's global G350 page says the HomeGuardian free trial activates automatically while its EU store says cloud storage is manual opt-in with no automatic trials — check which applies in your region before relying on either.

Video: dual-lens 4K vs single-lens 2K

This is the G350's clearest win on paper. Its wide lens records 3840×2160 through a 133° field of view, and a second 2560×1440 telephoto lens (43°) feeds a 9x hybrid zoom you can drive with a dial, a tap, a drag-box or a pinch. The G3 records a single 2304×1296 stream through a 110° lens — respectable 2K, but there is no second lens to zoom with, so distant detail is whatever the one sensor captured.

Aqara Camera Hub G350 dual-lens camera showing its 4K wide and 2.5K telephoto lenses
The G350's dual-lens face: 4K wide-angle plus 2.5K telephoto for its 9x hybrid zoom. Official Aqara image.

Both cameras use 940 nm infrared night vision, the near-invisible kind with no red glow to disturb a nursery. The G350 pairs it with an f/1.6 aperture, which Aqara says delivers brighter night video with less motion blur. One limit is shared and worth underlining: in Apple Home, both cameras are capped at 1080p by HomeKit Secure Video, so the G350's 4K advantage lives in the Aqara Home app (and other supported platforms), not in the Apple Home timeline.

Pan, tilt and tracking

Aqara markets both cameras as full-room coverage devices, but it documents them differently. For the G3 it publishes exact mechanics — 340° of pan and 45° of tilt (30° up, 15° down), automatic cruising, and face and pet tracking. For the G350 it markets “360° coverage” with presets (up to 30 preset angles on the EU store page), scheduled cruise, tap-to-position and panorama modes, but its spec table does not break out separate pan and tilt degree figures, so we report the claim as Aqara makes it rather than inventing numbers.

Aqara Camera Hub G350 on a sideboard auto-tracking a cat walking across a living room
The G350's AI auto-tracking follows people and pets, with an optional close-up zoom and pan/tilt speed that adapts to the zoom level. Official Aqara image.

Tracking is where the G350 pulls ahead functionally: its on-device AI follows people and pets and can zoom in for a close-up while tracking, slowing its pan/tilt as the zoom increases, then returns to its start position. The G3 tracks faces and pets too, but without a telephoto lens there is no close-up step. Aqara notes that the G350's tracking options are configured in the Aqara Home app — another setting that does not carry into Apple Home.

Detection and audio

The G350 runs the longer detection list, all of it on-device per Aqara: person, pet, face, lens-obstruction, smile and gesture recognition (static and dynamic gestures), plus six sound detections, with baby crying, coughing and dog barking given as examples. The G3's local NPU covers face, gesture and pet recognition — the set that made it popular for automations like disarming when a family face is recognised — but Aqara does not list sound detection or lens-obstruction detection for it.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 showing its AI facial recognition and five gesture controls
The G3's local AI: facial recognition plus five gestures, from “V Sign” to “OK”. Official Aqara image.

On audio, both offer two-way talk. Aqara quantifies only the G350: full-duplex conversation within 5 m, voice pickup up to 8 m in a quiet indoor environment, and a 95 dB siren the G3 does not list. If a built-in siren or sound-based alerts (a crying baby, a barking dog) matter to you, that is a G350-only column.

Hub duties: Matter and Thread vs Zigbee and infrared

Both cameras are hubs, but for different eras of the smart home. The G350 is a Zigbee and Thread hub that also works as a Matter Controller and a Matter bridge: it can bring Aqara devices into Matter platforms and bring third-party Matter devices into Aqara Home. Aqara's EU store puts its capacity at up to 80 Aqara Zigbee sub-devices, or 40 Zigbee plus 40 Thread, and notes third-party Zigbee sub-devices are not supported. The G3 is a Zigbee 3.0 hub for up to 128 Aqara child devices — a bigger Zigbee ceiling, with Aqara's caveat that repeater devices are needed to reach it — but it has no Thread radio and is not itself a Matter device.

The G3 keeps one feature the G350 dropped entirely: a 360° IR blaster that learns and fires infrared remote commands, so a dumb TV or air conditioner can join your automations, locally, even without internet. If your Aqara setup leans on that blaster, the G3 is not the “old” model — it is the only model. For wider context on where these two sit in Aqara's line, see our Aqara Camera Hub G2H Pro review and our Aqara Camera Hub G5 Pro review.

Storage, Wi-Fi and platforms

Local storage separates them by a factor of four: the G350 accepts microSD cards up to 512GB (Class 10 or above) and records 24/7, with NAS back-up available via the card and end-to-end encrypted cloud under Aqara's HomeGuardian plan. The G3 tops out at 128GB (Class 4 or above), with its cloud path being HomeKit Secure Video to iCloud+. Neither card is included with either camera.

On the network, the G350 is a generation ahead: dual-band Wi-Fi 6 with WPA3, plus Bluetooth in its protocol list. The G3 is dual-band 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac with WPA3 — still dual-band, which is more than many indoor cameras offer, but not Wi-Fi 6. Platform lists overlap heavily (Apple Home, Alexa, Google Home, Aqara Home on both); the G350 adds SmartThings and Home Assistant (Aqara describes Home Assistant support as streaming), while the G3 lists IFTTT. Apple households should read our best indoor cameras for Apple HomeKit guide for how the shared 1080p HomeKit cap compares across brands.

Privacy

Both cameras make privacy physical rather than a software promise, in different ways. On the G3, privacy mode tilts the lens assembly down into the head housing — the “sleepy face” — so the lens is mechanically masked; it is not a sliding shutter, and Aqara's partnerships page notes the privacy mode works through the Aqara Home app rather than Apple HomeKit. On the G350, Aqara describes a physical privacy mode in which the lens retracts completely when the camera is off.

Aqara Camera Hub G3 in physical masking privacy mode with its lens tilted down into the housing
The G3's privacy mode: the lens tilts down into the housing — the “sleepy face” — so it physically cannot see the room. Official Aqara image.

Pros and cons

Aqara Camera Hub G350

Pros

  • Dual lenses: 4K wide + 2.5K telephoto with 9x hybrid zoom — a real step up from any single-lens 2K camera
  • World's first Matter-certified camera per Aqara, and the hub is a Matter Controller and bridge with Zigbee + Thread
  • microSD up to 512GB with 24/7 recording and NAS back-up via the card
  • The longest local detection list here, including sound detection, plus a 95 dB siren
  • Wi-Fi 6 with WPA3; auto-tracking with close-up zoom
  • Only $20 more than the G3 at Aqara's US store

Cons

  • Still capped at 1080p in Apple Home / HomeKit Secure Video, like the G3
  • No IR blaster — the G3's legacy-remote control is gone
  • No power adapter in the box; Aqara's own pages contradict each other on whether the HomeGuardian trial activates automatically
  • Aqara does not publish separate pan/tilt degree figures or a weight for it
  • Hub capacity for Aqara Zigbee devices (80, per the EU store) is lower than the G3's 128

Aqara Camera Hub G3

Pros

  • Proven 2K pan-and-tilt with published mechanics: 340° pan, 45° tilt, cruising, face/pet tracking
  • Zigbee 3.0 hub for up to 128 Aqara devices — the bigger Aqara-only hub
  • 360° IR blaster for TVs and air conditioners, running locally — unique in this pairing
  • Physical privacy masking you can verify at a glance; USB-C doubles as a UVC video output
  • $119.99 at Aqara's US store, and a power adapter is in the box

Cons

  • Single 2K lens with no telephoto zoom; microSD stops at 128GB
  • No Thread and no Matter on the camera itself — it will not bridge its Zigbee children to Matter
  • HomeKit Secure Video caps it at 1080p and freezes pan/tilt in the Home app
  • Wi-Fi 5 rather than Wi-Fi 6; Aqara lists no sound detection or siren for it
  • Privacy mode is controlled from the Aqara app, not Apple HomeKit, per Aqara

Who it's for: the verdict

Buy the G350 if this camera will be the centre of a growing smart home. For $20 more you get the better camera by every published measure — 4K, a telephoto zoom, tracking close-ups, sound detection, a siren, four times the local storage — and the only hub of the two that speaks Matter and Thread, which is where new devices are heading. It is the default recommendation of this comparison.

Buy the G3 if any of three things is true: your automations depend on the IR blaster (the G350 cannot replace it at any price); your Aqara Zigbee network is large and Aqara-only, where the G3's 128-device ceiling beats the G350's 80; or you simply want the proven, cheaper HomeKit Secure Video camera and will never use a second lens, Wi-Fi 6 or Matter. Everyone else should spend the $20.

One shared warning for Apple households: whichever you buy, budget for the Apple side — HomeKit Secure Video needs an iCloud+ plan and a HomePod or Apple TV as a home hub, and both cameras drop to 1080p inside Apple Home. Buy them for the Aqara app experience and treat HomeKit as the encrypted bonus, not the main event.

Frequently asked questions

Is the G350 worth $20 more than the G3?

On Aqara's published specs, yes for most buyers: the $139.99 G350 adds a 4K + 2.5K dual-lens system with 9x hybrid zoom, Wi-Fi 6, 512GB microSD support, sound detection, a siren, and a Thread + Matter hub over the $119.99 G3. The exceptions are IR-blaster users and very large Aqara-only Zigbee networks, where the G3 is genuinely better suited.

Does the G3 support Matter?

No. The G3 is a Zigbee 3.0 hub and a HomeKit/Alexa/Google Home camera, but Aqara does not list Matter or Thread for it, and it does not bridge its Zigbee child devices to Matter. The G350 is Aqara's Matter model: a Matter-certified camera that is also a Matter Controller and bridge.

Do both cameras really cap Apple Home video at 1080p?

Yes — Aqara states this for both. HomeKit Secure Video records at 1080p on the 2K G3 and on the 4K G350 alike, because the limit is in HomeKit's specification, not the hardware. The G3 additionally loses pan/tilt control inside the Home app. Full resolution lives in the Aqara Home app on both cameras.

Which one is the better Aqara sensor hub?

It depends on the sensors. For Aqara Zigbee devices alone, the G3 hosts more of them (up to 128, with repeaters, vs up to 80 Zigbee on the G350 per Aqara's EU store). For a mixed modern setup, the G350 wins: it adds Thread (40 Thread devices alongside 40 Zigbee, per the same page) and Matter bridging that the G3 cannot do at all. Third-party Zigbee devices are not supported as sub-devices by either hub per Aqara.

Can either camera record without a subscription?

Yes. Both record locally to microSD with no plan required (up to 512GB on the G350, 128GB on the G3; cards are not included). The paid layers are optional: Aqara's HomeGuardian cloud on the G350, and iCloud+ if you want HomeKit Secure Video recording on either camera.

Where to buy

Prices below are from Aqara's own stores on October 25, 2026; street prices elsewhere move with sales. Confirm the exact model (G350: CH-C14E/CH-C14DE; G3: CH-H03) on any listing before you pay.

#aqara g350 #aqara g3 #aqara #matter camera

Written by Bestindoorcam Editors

Bestindoorcam.com compares indoor cameras from published specifications, room fit, and the real cost of owning them. We name a preference and we do not invent a lab test.

More from this author →

Comments

No notes yet. If you own one of these cameras, tell us what the spec sheet left out.

Leave a note

Comments are reviewed before they appear. Your email is never shown. Links are allowed (two at most) but are not clickable. See our privacy policy.

Desk notes

A new comparison when it is ready. No daily blast.

Join the list for indoor camera guides, price-watch notes, and the occasional correction when a spec sheet changes.